Falling in love in Paris, with Paris

I fell in love with Paris as soon as I arrived and I would go back tomorrow. It is the only place I have visited so far that I would consider living in for a significant amount of time.

Café after café, restaurant after restaurant was packed with people of all ages talking about everything and anything. Parisians struck me as the type of people who enjoy life. Perhaps it was the romance of the city, I suppose I’d have to go back to find out.

What do you think of before you go to Paris? Drinking coffee along the banks of the Seine, looking starry-eyed at the Eiffel Tower while being embraced by a loved one? Those things are possible but they are not what I think of now I’ve been to Paris.

12190192_978025332261774_2143170770_o
Standing on the glass floor of the Eiffel Tower. Very Scary

What I think of is the beautiful parks with their golden leaves. I think of the perfect symmetry of the whole city (Go to the top of the Eiffel Tower or the Arc de Triomphe and you will see what I mean).

12186134_978033722260935_2075712577_o
The view from the top of the Eiffel Tower.

The point I’m trying to make is that every place, even a city as iconic as Paris, can and will mean something different for everybody.

What struck me was, people live here. Okay it cannot always be as beautiful as I saw it. I’m sure Parisians have the same problems as the rest of us but still a Parisian office worker can have lunch in a beautifully maintained park staring at the Eiffel Tower.

Here are just some of my tips for anybody planning a visit to Paris but I will always remind people to have their own experience and Paris, or any city in the world, will mean something different to you.

Before you go

My girlfriend bought me a trip to Paris for my birthday. We love to travel and I have always wanted to visit Paris so it was the perfect gift.

As with practically all my holidays we bought tickets for Paris attractions before I left home so I could skip the line and save money where possible.

My girlfriend bought me the tickets for my birthday so I can’t help you out on price but our ticket included access to the Eiffel Tower, a river boat cruise along the Seine and an open top bus tour around the city.

We also got our one-day Disneyland ticket before we left as well as tickets to have lunch on the Eiffel Tower.

Check the weather before you go. Unlike Rome, which I visited recently, Paris does have Autumn and it can become quite cold. If you are lucky you can avoid the rain but a raincoat is still recommended depending on the time of year you plan on visiting.

12205069_1022588914428927_757947508_n

The Language

As I said at the start, people warned me about Parisians being rude but I did not find this at all and I thank my French for that. I am by no means fluent but even an attempt at a couple of words is enough of an effort.

If you learn more than Bonjour and Merci you are probably doing better than most so it might be time to break out the dusty school books.

Food

Forget snails and whatever else you think is only on the menu in France. If you want to try escargot that’s up to you. I didn’t. But there is so much more on offer too. Most of the beef we got was either French or Irish which meant it was high quality and delicious.

I would recommend a light breakfast before a big early lunch and late dinner. Crepes always serve as a nice after meal treat. We spent many nights under the Eiffel Tower with our crepes.

Transport

The Parisian underground metro system is one of the best in Europe, if not the world. It is cheap, relatively clean and has stops at all the major tourist attractions.

We found the staff at the stations to be patient but I would recommend trying to get familiar with the map of the metro system early on in your holiday as it can speed along your process if you know where you are going.

11 Comments

      1. Yes I did love them. Unique taste . Some do a butter sauce these ones in Paris were done with herbs . Tricky to get out of the shells . The Eiffel Tower I was looking forward to going up even though I am scared of heights. However a terrorist plot cancelled that. Next time for sure .

        Like

  1. Absolutely loved this post, especially because of its uniqueness. Most people just talk about what they think other people should do and what they would like, but this line:
    “even a city as iconic as Paris, can and will mean something different for everybody”
    It really shows you aren’t like most people, instead you actually understand the importance of having to experience something in your own.
    Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been living in Paris for a year now and I have not sat under the eiffel tower and had a crepe! Perfect idea! This will be added to my to do list. Nice post. You inspired some new subjects for to write about in my new blog about my life in Paris.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

