My travel debut

In recent posts I’ve spoken about my travels to Paris and Rome but that is not where my travel began. So, where did it begin? London. Falling in love in Paris, with ParisVisiting the Eternal City.

My first independent holiday with just me and my girlfriend was 2 years ago in London. It is hard to believe we have been to 6 countries since.

12399432_1006160626114911_105888449_n

The first thing I want to mention is the theater. We did not go just for the West End but it was the defining moment of the holiday for me.

12404361_1006159102781730_1924788865_n
‘Wicked’ the musical

If you think you won’t like musicals please please just give it a go. We saw Wicked and I was never a big fan of the Wizard of Oz but it is simply sensational. GO! You won’t regret it.

Many people will have their own idea of what London means to them. It will always hold a special meaning for me as it was our first holiday. We returned their this year again for a couple of days.

Considering I’m from Dublin, London was extremely similar in culture, food, hospitality and all the other stuff we usually blog about. Still I will give some helpful tips for anybody thinking of travelling to London.

Things to do 

  • London Eye
  • London Aquarium
  • London Dungeons
  • Madame Tussaud’s wax museum
  • Buckingham Palace
  • Shopping on Oxford Street
  • Much much more….

What I did

We paid £50 for a ticket which got us entry to Madame Tussaud’s wax museum, the London Eye and the London Aquarium.

The London Eye offers some spectacular views of the banks  of the Thames. The large pods have interactive tablets which allows you to see what is inside the buildings you are towering over.

MI5 and MI6 buildings can be seen as well as the shard and Buckingham Palace.

12449301_1006161279448179_634958738_o-1
The view from the London Eye

I absolutely love fish and aquariums so I loved the London Aquarium. I probably dragged my girlfriend around for longer than she wanted. I don’t regret anything.

12431198_1006159756114998_1878401433_n

12443045_1006158966115077_937172620_n

Madame Tussaud’s wax museum is a unique experience where you can look at the strikingly realistic wax works of world leaders, your favorite celebrities and more.  The only issue with the wax museum is the queuing system. We we were forced to queue on the side of the street and there were many frustrated tourists all around us.

We also walked through parks and sat where we wanted and chatted about anything and everything. As I always say about cities, find what it means for you. If you are going to London from Indonesia or China or anywhere else in the world, enjoy the new culture and find what London means to you.

London was the platform the the rest of the travel I have done and the travel I will do in the future, for that and that alone I will always remember it.

Travel

London’s underground is probably the best underground rail system in Europe. I remember saying to my girlfriend ‘We are really lucky with these trains, we never have to wait more than 2 minutes and we are not even timing them’.

My two main tips for the underground is to buy an Oyster card and avoid rush hour. The Oyster card is a card which you can top up and then use to get in and out of train stations. They will speed up your journey as you do not have to queue to buy tickets.

Avoiding rush hour

Remember London is a city where people live and work. The underground system will be extremely busy early mornings and between 5-7 PM .  Perhaps plan dinner or some shopping between these times.

If you have ever visited London and have any tips or recommendations I have missed please drop them in the comments below.

Author: Gavin Hyland

Hi, my name is Gavin. I am a journalism student from Dublin. I love to write, read, watch television and travel ✈🚄🚀🚅

8 thoughts on “My travel debut”

  1. This is an awesome post, and I am soooo envious of you….sounds like a most amazing adventure, and you sure do it justice!!!! “Wicked”, the Wax Museum, and the aquarium are the stuff of dreams. And, congrats on following your calling…six countries, wow! I’m sure your blog will be a hit…I am “following you”…thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Theater is an intrinsic part of a visit to London or NYC. The experience of the performance stays and stays. I had visited London way back in 2000 and seen Phantom of the Opera. Remember it to date!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

