Staying at home to travel

I have not blogged in so long. I would love to say it’s because I have been busy travelling the world but unfortunately I was just busy with college work. I did take a trip to Galway which inspired this post.

I have been catching up on reading blogs and I have noticed how many travel bloggers travel their own countries before heading abroad. That got me thinking about what Ireland had to offer. I got a trip to Galway for Christmas and I returned to Dublin yesterday.

The train took 2 and a half hours but we had reserved seats, WiFi, and catering on board so it was no struggle at all. Galway is a beautiful city but it is exceptionally cold in January so I advise planning some indoor activities before you arrive.

The intention of this trip was to relax in the hotel’s amazing spa as my girlfriend and I have a big few months ahead of us with college and jobs so we needed a relaxing break away from home.

16106544_1299755460088758_1810679326_o

Admittedly we don’t live in Canada, USA or Australia where we can travel across the country and get a vastly different experience but still Galway was different. Our room had the most amazing view and the sunrise was as good as anywhere else in the world.

15967603_1299163593481278_848962980_o

The people were friendly and the traditional Irish food was delicious and really affordable. Galway made me realise how expensive Dublin really is. I would have loved to spend longer in Galway and I would definitely go back but for now I am busy planning Summer 2017 and how to pass exams before then!

I have started to look at international travel bloggers who have visited Ireland to get tips on where they enjoyed. I want to see more of this country of mine and what it has to offer.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

